New Year, New Beginnings

Happy New Year everyone! I hope you had a very enjoyable start into 2016 and may the year bring you only the best of things.

The new year often starts with resolutions of more or less importance that people more or less stick to over the course of the year, or the first couple of weeks anyway. I usually don’t bother anymore because I know I’m not going to stick to them for the most part.

This year however, I couldn’t help but wonder what my new year’s resolutions could be in terms of reading, and penpalling, and so I have decided to make a couple at least.

In terms of penpalling, it’s a fairly easy resolution, or it should be. I have to stop procrastinating and I shouldn’t let myself be distracted by all the shiny books all the time so I can spend more time replying to letters, something I have done very little of in 2015, unfortunately. My mailbox is starting to feel very neglected.

As far as books are concerned, I have resolved to not get any new books until March. Seems doable, right? Right! At least, I hope it is. Alright, let me rephrase that slightly, I’m not going to get any new books I have to pay for in any way. Free deals are acceptable, aren’t they?

Truthfully though, I am, really, going to attempt my best at diminishing the pile of new books that is sitting there unread and crying for my attention. (By ‘new’, I mean all my recent additions, most of which have actually been second-hand.)

As far as reading challenges are concerned, I’m not entirely sure which I’m going to end up doing, though I have two lined up already.
1. Book Charmers Reading Challenge 2016, which is loosely based around the idea posted by Pop Sugar in 2015
2. 12-Month-Classics-Challenge, which I’m doing with Serenity from Book Charmers; an idea we found on You, Me and a Cup of Tea.

We’ll see what more the year will bring.

Happy reading!

The Cocktail Phoenix

2 thoughts on “New Year, New Beginnings

Leave a comment